Spotting scope power

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

JonnyV
Location: Living in a van down by the river eatin’ Govt cheese

Spotting scope power

Post by JonnyV »

So I ain’t trying to start any arguments or anything, but I am interested in what it is the optimum spotting scope power for long range shooting. And by long range I mean starting from 1000 yards out to maybe even including shooting at Kenny’s mile match someday…

All opinions, welcome, and thank you for your help!
Woody

Re: Spotting scope power

Post by Woody »

20X is more than enough. The glass clarity is the most important aspect here.

Woody
Richard A. Wood
If you are surrounded. You are in a target rich environment.
JonnyV
Location: Living in a van down by the river eatin’ Govt cheese

Post by JonnyV »

My current set up is 20 power. I’ve been using a pair of 20 power Steiner binoculars for a few years now, and I can pretty easily see the flight of the bullet through the air and where it impacts on the dirt, or sometimes the target LOL!. So far though I’ve only been operating at a ranges out to about eight or 900 yards. I’m concerned about the ability of this set up to work in ranges of 1000 yards and well beyond.
opencountry

Post by opencountry »

I've settled on a Nikon. I went to the local sporting goods store (Sportsman's Warehouse) and took every spotting scope (of high-quality), put it on a scope stand and looked through it outside their front door. I may have to do this again, as the scopes today are better than they were fifteen years ago, but you get the idea. Clarity is everything.

Robert
Beware of the man that owns one rifle.
martinibelgian

Post by martinibelgian »