Muzzleloader vs. cartridge?

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

MudChild

Muzzleloader vs. cartridge?

Post by MudChild »

I'm pretty new to blackpowder shooting. My question is probably a little silly to those of you who have been shooting a while, but here it is: What is the difference between a .50-90 in a cartridge and a .50 bullet atop 90 grains of blackpowder in a muzzleloader? Or is there even a difference? I know that a lot of people don't trust muzzeloaders out to any thing past about 100 yards or so, so what's the difference?
Kelley O.Roos

Post by Kelley O.Roos »

MudChild,

Yep there is a difference :shock: You put the powder in a brass cartridge in one and you put the powder down a barrel in the other :roll: :roll: :wink: :lol: :shock: :?

Kelley O. 8)
Kelley O.Roos
MudChild

Post by MudChild »

Ok, ok! I set myself up for that one. I meant why is a bp cartridge rifle used for shooting out to 1000 yards, when, from my understanding, most people will only trust a muzzeloader out to about 200 yards or so.

Have I made myself clear to the Irish Master of the Obvious? :lol: :P
ffffgdave@yahoo.com

muzzlloader vs/cartrige

Post by ffffgdave@yahoo.com »