casting tool info.

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Lumpy Grits

casting tool info.

Post by Lumpy Grits »

Can any of you long time bullet casters tell me the advanage and disavanage of using a lead "dipper", like Lyman sells. To a "ladle" like the #1 Rowell ? I just started casting for may Shiloh in the last few months and still learning the ups and downs of this hobby, thou I have been reloading for over 35 years. Thank you for your time, "Lumpy Grits" :D
Rich Siegel

Post by Rich Siegel »

I think the purpose of a dipper or ladle is to get the lead into a mold as fast as possible so that the lead fills out the entire bullet cavity before it starts to cool. You get extremely poor bullets, with voids and creases, if you dribble lead into a mold, even a hot mold. So, the more lead pouring into the mold, the better.

I'm also a believer in the messy casting method. I pour enough lead, fast enough, that I get excess lead over the spur cutter, not just a little puddle at the mold mouth. I think it's important to have force behind the lead pouring into the mold to fill out the entire bullet, the base and lube groves. I want a steady, full stream of lead forcing it's way into the mold. I even hold the ladle an inch or two above the mold to get pressure in the pouring lead.

With that in mind, I don't see a difference between a ladle and a dipper. I use an RCBS dipper but I'd also like to find a large ladle to use. Just stay away from the small dippers, like Lee sells. They don't hold enough lead.
Lumpy Grits

Rich (casting tool info.)

Post by Lumpy Grits »

I thank you for your time. What I was looking for was the differance in the two items in use, the pros & cons etc. I have been useing the Lyman dipper with very good bullets being made in both my Lyman and Steve Brooks molds. FYI, Steve includes some very good tips on casting with his molds.
Lumpy Grits

Rich (casting tool info.)

Post by Lumpy Grits »