bpcr shooter's are rare

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

pete

bpcr shooter's are rare

Post by pete »

It seems to me that in the shooting sports world we bpcr shooter's are a pretty rare thing. I know there are more than there used to be . I'm new to it too. And there's a big crowd at the Nationals but go to most any traditional gun shop and mention black powder cartridge and you'll get looks and comments of indifference. Where I work there are quite a few shooters/hunters but I'm the only bpcr shooter, in fact I've met several people that shoot alot that don't even know cartridges were loaded with black powder, thinking it's only for muzzleloader's.

I finally saw a hunting show tonite that featured a singleshot (Uberti Highwall) which was a nice change of pace from the variable power scoped inline sabot firing "primitive weapons" they normally use. They used smokeless rounds with jacketed bullets and that's fine but the point is they couldn't use black powder either. Probably no doubt because there isn't enough of a customer base to make it worth their while since most hunting shows are pretty much an advertisement for the latest gadget.

On one hand it sucks that there's not many people to talk to about one of your hobbies. On the other hand this rarity is kinda neat since you feel you're doing something out of the ordinary and unique. Also, it's why this site in particular and ones like it in general are great. What's the thought on this.
Gunny

Post by Gunny »

Pete,