1/20 and nose slump ...

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Etienne Brule

1/20 and nose slump ...

Post by Etienne Brule »

Hi

FWIW...

Last spring, I recovered bullets that I shot in the snow in January 2018.

- Fire line at 600 yards
- Shiloh Sharps 45-90
- Bullet: Creedmoor 45001, 539 grains. casted tin-lead 1-20 (5%)
- Powder Old Eynsford 1 1/2 , 81 grains
- Starline brass: fireformed.
- Lube: SPG. Newspaper wad, LDPE 0.60 wad

I recovered 24 bullets of which 2 had their newspaper wad stuck at the base. Some had still the lube in the grooves. ( I am not an expert eith the cam ...). Just a few were shorter by no more than 0.015 inch. Most were longer.

Still worth to think to cast 1-16 ? ...

desert deuce

Re: 1/20 and nose slump ...

Post by desert deuce »

Thanks Etienne for sharing, I too have used the Paul Jones 45001, but no longer for long range shooting as is the SAECO 740. It is just fine to 600 yards.

Where I have wandered with the Dan Theodore Designed Money bullets and the very similar BACO Money bullets is why I went to 1-16 for long range in both .44 & .45 caliber rifles.

As you might imagine there is precious little snow in Arizona along the Mexican border so I have to be content with shot groups on targets 800 to 1,000 yards distant. What I find is 1-16 seems to give tighter core groups, little to no leading and the money design seems to shoot flatter and is not as affected by wind. Combined with a 1-16 twist I see enough advantage at 1,000 yards using the money bullet to stick with 1-16 alloy. Of course, other shooters at other ranges using other rifles may experience different results.
Sometimes you get the chicken, and sometimes you get the feathers!
bruce m

Post by bruce m »

etienne,
old eyes cannot see too well.
do those fired bullets have rifling marks on what is described as the bore riding section, which is the section between the ogive and the bands?