A first for me

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

TexasMac

A first for me

Post by TexasMac »

I’ve been reloading for near 40 years and this is a first. Although it looks like an 18, it’s a Lee #8 shell holder and has been in heavy use for the last 25 years or so for .40-65 & .45-70. It sure put an end to my .45-70 loading. A replacement should be arriving shortly from Amazon.

Wayne
NRA Life (Benefactor & President's Council) Member, TSRA Life Member, NSSF Member, Author & Publisher of the Browning BPCR book
http://www.texas-mac.com
kwilliams

Re: A first for me

Post by kwilliams »

45 yrs for me, and I remember that I have ripped the lip off a couple of RCBS holders experimenting with forming cases.
Was surprised the case rim didn't give first.
kw
Woody

Post by Woody »

I did the same thing several years ago with one for 45-70 ,(#14 RCBS), I already had a spare on hand, so no slowdown. Mine failed on my priming tool instead of the press. It had been purchased sometime around 1976.

Woody
Richard A. Wood
If you are surrounded. You are in a target rich environment.
cat1870

Post by cat1870 »

TexasMac wrote: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:58 am I’ve been reloading for near 40 years and this is a first. Although it looks like an 18, it’s a Lee #8 shell holder and has been in heavy use for the last 25 years or so for .40-65 & .45-70. It sure put an end to my .45-70 loading. A replacement should be arriving shortly from Amazon.

Wayne
I've had a couple of RCBS shell holders do that to me.
SASS Life Member
NRA Life Member....
Which rifle should I shoot today???
bobw

Post by bobw »

You guys should put some lube on your cases jeez :) :( bobw
bobw
semtav

Post by semtav »

What's really amazing is that you only have one shell holder :lol:
TexasMac

Post by TexasMac »

Actually I was stretching some cases with the Tim Smith-Lyon stretcher when it broke, which tends to put a good bit of die extraction stress on the top lip of the shell holder.