Browning .40-65 vs. Shiloh Sharps .40-65

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

TexasMac

Browning .40-65 vs. Shiloh Sharps .40-65

Post by TexasMac »

I just completed a rough analysis of match scores from 89 matches while shooting a Browning 1885 .40-65 & Shiloh Sharps 1874 .40-65 using 6 different bullets & various loads.

Browning 1885 BPCR:
I started shooting BPCR silhouette using various commercial soft-cast BPCR bullets. I then bought a Paul Jones 40001 Creedmoor mould but could never get the bullet to shoot well, averaging only 15.4/40 over 12 matches. Moving to the BACO 409400M5 “money bullet” upped the average to 22.9/40 over 26 matches. I then tried the BACO 409400M3 money bullet, averaging 22.3/40 over 24 matches. The next bullet was the BACO 410410M1 money bullet, which resulted in an average of 23.6/40 over 5 matches. BTW, the trigger sear on my rifle has been worked on to reduce the pull weight to approximately 1.5lbs.

Shiloh Sharps 1874 BPCR:
Using the BACO 209400M5 resulted in an average of 24.5/40 over 9 matches. Next is the BACO 409420M2 money bullet which I’m currently shooting. So far it’s averaging 26.3/40 over 13 matches.

It’s my opinion that the overall lower average of the Browning is due to the chamber & throat design. It has a “generous” chamber (excessive neck diameter) & an extended over-bore diameter throat (freebore diameter of 0.411” & effective freebore length of 0.190”). The Sharps has a tight chamber & short throat (effective freebore of 0.038”). As reported from the results of an earlier analysis (http://www.shilohrifle.com/forums/viewt ... =2&t=27409), the Sharps set trigger does add about 1 point to the total scores due to a slight advantage when shooting the chickens.