.50-110 to .44-77 viability

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Zac D

.50-110 to .44-77 viability

Post by Zac D »

Howdy all,

I’m new to the Sharps community but have done a fair amount of reading around these parts, so thanks in advance for the knowledge already provided. I’m looking to purchase my first Shiloh through Mr. Goodman soon (a Hartford) and had a question on brass.

My understanding is that affordable .44-77 brass is practically impossible to come by short of a lucky find on an auction site and BACO brass formed from other cases. I’m curious though, has anyone had experience with the BACO .44-77 cases formed from Starline .50-110? If so, does BACO do anything besides the neck thinning that can’t be done at home (stretching, etc) with a sizing die and some patience?

Seems like a good solution to brass availability for this cartridge if indeed it is doable, I just haven’t been able to find info from anyone who’s used them.

Any advice is greatly appreciated,

Zac D
Distant Thunder

Re: .50-110 to .44-77 viability

Post by Distant Thunder »

Zac,

I can't speak to converting .50-110 brass to .44-77, but I have work with other brass to see if it was doable. After a lot of work making tooling to do the conversion and then more work converting 50 pieces I concluded it is NOT worth all that work if there is another way and there is.

Just buy them from BACO. They do all the hard work and sell them at what I would say is a very reasonable price. I did decide to neck turn my cases which came about .004" to tight to accept a .447" bullet. I also annealed them before fireforming which may or may not have been necessary.

Even with the neck turning I think they are excellent brass. They make very consistent cases.

I also have some Jamison (JBA) brass that I paid a lot more for and they are excellent. The JBA are not being made at this time. The BACO brass is available though you may have to wait a bit to get your order filled.