Recovering And reusing lead

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

opencountry

Recovering And reusing lead

Post by opencountry »

I’ve been recovering my own lead downrange whenever possible. I understand when melting this lead that anything lighter with rise to the surface of the melt. Are there any trace elements that may not rise, and possibly get mixed with the newly cast bullets to ‘scratch’ my barrel’s fine rifling? I’m new to melting dirty range lead.

Robert
Beware of the man that owns one rifle.
MSalyards

Re: Recovering And reusing lead

Post by MSalyards »

I have a friend that owns a range and mines the lead after his yearly match's, He says it works fine .
Lumpy Grits

Post by Lumpy Grits »

Flux, stir and skim often :wink:
Gary
"Hav'n you along, is like loose'n two good men"
powderburner

Post by powderburner »

I do it twice. A big pot first, stir lots and flux a bunch. Then after ingoting a smaller pot fluxing and blending then small ingots into the pot.
Dean Becker
only one gun and they are 74 s
3rd asst. flunky,high desert chapter F.E.S.
MYWEIGH scale merchant
reclining member of O-G-A-N-T
GPeterson

Post by GPeterson »