45-110 load

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Chickm1

45-110 load

Post by Chickm1 »

I bought a new Shiloh 45-110 with a 34" barrel. I'm new to this. I have 1.5 F Swiss, and I bought some Montana bullets, as I am not geared up to cast yet. Probably bought the wrong stuff, but what I got is 480 and 525 gr. I also have some 405 gr for my 45-70, that will work. Have any of you used this combination? If so, what kind of powder charge did you use? I also have some of the fiber wads, and the bullets are greased with SPG. Thanks!
semtav

Re: 45-110 load

Post by semtav »

This is just my suggestion. You will probably get many others totally different.

First, Determine if you are you gonna reload sized or as fired brass

Second, determine the oal of the cartridge with the bullet you want. (Bullet should be touching the lands)

Third (after priming) Add enough powder and one wad to bring the level up to the bottom of where your bullet will be.
(most will do this by drop tubing the powder into the case)

Fourth install your bullet to just touch the wad.

That's your starting point.

(I usually skip ahead and either add another wad or thicker wad or a little more powder and compress it to the level I want to get my starting load)

then start experimenting with the bullets, powder, primers and wads you have
Chickm1

Post by Chickm1 »

Thanks. I doubt I can touch the lands with a grease groove bullet. But, I don't know diddly squat about loading for the Shiloh.
MikeT

Post by MikeT »

If you take the bullet of your choice and drop it into the empty chamber, your bullet is now touching the lands.
Measure the distance from the rear of the chamber to the bottom of the bullet, then add to this dimension to the length of the bullet to get the maximum cartridge length. These measurements will also tell you how much of the bullet will be inside the cartridge case,
so you can fill the case with powder to the bottom of the seated bullet.