Silhouette course of fire

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

JonnyV
Location: Living in a van down by the river eatin’ Govt cheese

Silhouette course of fire

Post by JonnyV »

So I’m pretty new to BP shooting and there’s a silhouette match near me. What’s the usual course of fire? How much ammo should I take?

Sorry for the dumb questions…trying to get started in this sport….thanks!
Woody

Re: Silhouette course of fire

Post by Woody »

Most matches are 40 shots for score, although some are 60. Figure 5 sighting rounds per animal to refine your setting and warm up your barrel. That comes to 20 rounds minimum to be added to the shots for score, 60 rounds and 80 rounds. Some open the range for practice prior to the start of the match. If so, bring a few extra for that.

You will be assigned a starting point prior to the start. You will need a spotter/coach to assist in spotting your hits/misses. and advising on condition changes.

I started to basically re-write the NRA rule book then thought better of it. I would recommend that you download the silhouette rule book from the NRA web site and then ask specific questions.

Woody
Richard A. Wood
If you are surrounded. You are in a target rich environment.
Aviator

Post by Aviator »

Hey Jonny, just making sure you know that there are quite a number of different Silhouette matches: pistol, small bore rifle (22), pistol cartridge lever action rifle, lever action rifle, high power, etc, and of course the ones we all know and love: Black Powder Cartridge Rifle(BPCR) and 22BPCR.

So make sure you know which one(s) the clubs in your area run, and follow Woody's advice (download the rule book and read it, followed by more specific questions). :wink:
JonnyV

Post by JonnyV »

Cool thanks guys!

This one is for BPCR. I have a bunch of ammo loaded with Old Eynesford powder that I need to get rid of so that I can have the empty brass back… I think this is as good an excuse as any!
gunlaker