paper patch chamber question

Ask Shiloh questions about your Shiloh Sharps Rifle.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Bulseyetom

paper patch chamber question

Post by Bulseyetom »

What characteristics are different between a "paper patch chamber" and a regular chamber? I assume that the paper patch chamber is tight necked so that the fired case is not expanded too much so that a patched bullet can be finger seated. On a similar note, were the Farmington 50-90 rifles suitable for paper patching? I am wanting a dedicated paper patched rifle for hunting and even though I am getting better at understanding paper patching requirements the more I load, I am still a novice. My 40-70 SS Hepburn has about 0.300 freebore but I have a long based dual diameter that is showing promise. My 40-65 Hiwall has a huge chamber and would require a bullet patched to 0.415 to be a snug fit in a fired case and the bore is 0.413. I haven't ordered a mould for that barrel. Thanks for any advice. Tom
MikeT

Re: paper patch chamber question

Post by MikeT »

If the bore diameter is 0.413, then what is the groove diameter?
Keep on hav'n fun!
MikeT
powderburner

Post by powderburner »

My rifles are right at 10 tho tighter than standard.
The simple formula is : wrapped bullet size id and chamber dia is od of brass. The case does not need to expand to release the bullet so cut it just enough it will chamber and extract.
My shiloh 45 is 471 at the case mouth and i ise a .442 bullet with 2 tho paper. It takes a slight pressure to push a bullet into a clean fired case.
Dean Becker
only one gun and they are 74 s
3rd asst. flunky,high desert chapter F.E.S.
MYWEIGH scale merchant
reclining member of O-G-A-N-T
Distant Thunder

Post by Distant Thunder »

Tom,