Increasing powder charge?

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Omaha Poke

Increasing powder charge?

Post by Omaha Poke »

No one has made a new post here for a few days, so I thought I would pose a question. This past Sat. I shot my LRE in 45-110 for the first time and did my sighting in at 500 yds during a match. Had pretty good results with 92 grs of Swiss 1 1/2, in a reformed Win. .348 case, Fed LR primer, poly wad .030 thick, Paul Jones Smerker AA bullet 572 grs., cast 30-1, OAL - 3.734", there was at the most about 1/16" compression.

Now that the back ground is set, I wish to try and improve accuracy and performance. To do this I was thinking of increasing the powder charge gradually with slightly more compression with each increase. I was going to start with 2 grain increments, but since I am fairly new to this I would value oppinions from more experienced shooters. Thanks in advance for your replies, all are welcome. Randy :D
Randy Ruwe
MikeT

Post by MikeT »

Omaha,
Swiss powder is a good shooting powder without compression. But, it never hurts to experiment, as you have suggested. Go for it! A fella should always be going to the range to develop a load, even if you have a good load already. Isn't that the point of shooting BP?
Keep on hav'n fun!
MikeT
Kelley O.Roos

Post by Kelley O.Roos »

I've posted a response on compressing powder several different times. Swiss by the way will shoot well with compression.

Kelley O.
Kelley O.Roos
Omaha Poke

Post by Omaha Poke »

Kelley, I must have missed your previous post on Swiss. Like I said I have only been doing BP for not quite a year. If you could point me to your previous post, I would appreciate it. Randy
Randy Ruwe
Kelley O.Roos

Post by Kelley O.Roos »