Anyone bother to square the case rim?

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

John W

Anyone bother to square the case rim?

Post by John W »

Hello All,

I am still learning the about reloading for the BPCR, and am reading as much as I can on these forums and outside books.

I haven't seen much about whether it is worth it to square the case rim to the body of a straight walled case.

Just theoretically, I was wondering if a non-square case rim would make a straight walled case press/lean more towards one side of the chamber, and thus throw off accuracy?

R,
John W.
Lumpy Grits

Re: Anyone bother to square the case rim?

Post by Lumpy Grits »

If you can close the breech on the case. The rim is fine. :P
Gary
"Hav'n you along, is like loose'n two good men"
Kodiak

Post by Kodiak »

I full size all new cases. Then try each in the chamber and close the action. Most new brass these days will let the action close as though the chamber is empty. When I find one that is different than the others, I slowly turn the case in the chamber until it turns loosly. If it tends to hang-up, even a little, I toss it in a box with others that do the same. Lately, all new Starline cases work very well.

YMMV,

Jim
I don't always shoot well, but when I do there isn't any reason.
John W

Post by John W »

Kodiak wrote:I full size all new cases. Then try each in the chamber and close the action. Most new brass these days will let the action close as though the chamber is empty. When I find one that is different than the others, I slowly turn the case in the chamber until it turns loosly. If it tends to hang-up, even a little, I toss it in a box with others that do the same. Lately, all new Starline cases work very well.

YMMV,

Jim
Ahh... so you are using the actual rifle chamber as a "gauge" to see if the rim is square? Then, if not, you discard the case?

R,
John W.
Kodiak

Post by Kodiak »

"Then if not, you discard the case?"