Moly Lube question

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

4570faraim

Moly Lube question

Post by 4570faraim »

I'm just getting started and have been shooting bullets with SPG lube. I picked up a batch with a dark grey lube, which I suspect has some moly in it. From my smokeless shooting days I remember that once you shoot moly coated bullets the bore becomes imbedded with the stuff. From then on whenever you clean some dark residue will come out on your patches. Is it the same with the black powder lube, or can you eventually get clean patches after shooting moly? I'm concerned I may not be able to tell when the black powder fouling leaves off and the moly residue begins. Thanks.
SchuetzenDave

Re: Moly Lube question

Post by SchuetzenDave »

NEVER NEVER use MOLY in a BPCR.

Moly with metal friction and moisture (from Moose Milk or Water soluble solutions) can create a carbide like substance that adheres to the inside of your barrel.
It CANNOT be removed.

I have seen one of my friend`s barrel destroyed this way.

Moly works fine with smokeless powder rifles cleaned with solvents that are not water soluble.
NMLRA Past Pres.

Post by NMLRA Past Pres. »

Hello:
Thanks, Dave, for the warning. Never heard that before.

Have not considered moly as a BPCR bullet lube, but use it mixed with lithium based wheel bearing grease as a steel to steel lube.

Am amused to see people recommending graphite, which I understand to be an abrasive.
Have seen several molds with significant galling between top of blocks and bottom of sprue plate near screw from " mold prep" that is an alcohol-graphite solution.

Anyway, I am fascinated by and most appreciative of your advise.

Can you please share more about the moly problem and how it forms the deposits?
Thanks,
Kevin Tinny
Pay attention to that soft voice in your head.
Trust a good woman. Her brain IS hardwired differently than a man's.