Paper patch tale of tails

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Dennis Armistead

Paper patch tale of tails

Post by Dennis Armistead »

I've been loading paper patch rounds for quite a few years and experiment with loading to achieve the most accurate load I can. But I have a question...
why is the patch cut so you fold the excess under under the base of the bullet? I've loaded this way for years because that's how I was shown to do it. I've even seen long tails twisted and shoved into the cupped base. So while loading some flat based rounds this week I had to ask myself...why leave a folded patch under the base at all. We all know that the base of the bullet is the steering wheel so to speak, so we take great care to cast with a nice flat base, void of any imperfections...wipe off any lube to prevent the wad from hanging on etc...
Since I load with "over the powder wad, lube wad, over the lube wad and then a thin paper wad over that wad, why was I folding the patch under the base of the bullet which was rough and irregular etc. I certainly don't leave rough paper under my grooved rounds so why was I doing that with my patched rounds??? Just food for thought so I thought I would bring it up for discussion. I know that I'm going to experiment with patches that only go to the base of my bullets and see what happens. Maybe I'm missing the boat so to speak when it comes to accurate patched loads.
Dennis
Experience trumps intelligence every time.
bobw

Re: Paper patch tale of tails

Post by bobw »

DA, be my guess most guys here who patch left the twisted tail method long ago. Most guys I know use the Hyde style fold over with an open ctr..... good luck bobw
bobw
martinibelgian

Post by martinibelgian »

To make sure the patch stays in place when seating the bullet? And that the patch just stays in place at all...
Orville

Post by Orville »