"Short" barrel 45-70 loads

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

My_name_ain't_Roy

"Short" barrel 45-70 loads

Post by My_name_ain't_Roy »

Searched the forums, but not coming up with what I'm looking for, so I'll pose the question: is anybody out there shooting a 26" barrel 45-70 with paper patched bullets, and would you share your recipe ? I'm new to BPCR loading, and wondering if the shorter barrel necessitates different powder granulations/weights/wad combos than the 30"+. I've got an early Farmingdale that I was told is a "Hunter" model, with the short tapered round barrel. So far I've been loading smokeless (gasp !) It's a sub MOA rifle with (double gasp ! !) Hornady FTX bullets at around 1825 fps. But I'm starting to feel like I'm committing blasphemy against the Holy Black every time I fire that load in a Shiloh. Suggestions ?
Distant Thunder

Re: "Short" barrel 45-70 loads

Post by Distant Thunder »

Well, Roy, a few more pieces of the puzzle would help us help you.

What kind of black powder do you have access to?
What cast bullet would you be working with?
Is this for hunting or do you plan to shoot any competition with it?
How far do you plan to shoot with this Hunter?
Do you have any idea what the chamber looks like?

Answers to those questions will give us a bit more to work with.

You can't really enjoy the full value of these rifles until you shoot them with paper patch & black, IMHO. That's the way God intended them to be shot!
Jim Kluskens
aka Distant Thunder
Distant Thunder

Well, Roy, a few more pieces of the puzzle would help us help you.

What kind of black powder do you have access to?
What cast bullet would you be working with?
Is this for hunting or do you plan to shoot any competition with it?
How far do you plan to shoot with this Hunter?
Do you have any idea what the chamber looks like?

Answers to those questions will give us a bit more to work with.