22 liner for my 45-70

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Glen Ring

22 liner for my 45-70

Post by Glen Ring »

I must confess my TOTAL lack of knowledge about 22 Liners in Center fire single shots.
I have a Miroku 45-70 BPCR rifle. Is it possible to put a 22 liner in it , temporarily, and shoot.
I have NO knowledge if or how this can be accomplished.
There are those that talk, and those that act. Make a choice.
GrumpyBear

Re: 22 liner for my 45-70

Post by GrumpyBear »

Glenn give Crossno's a call in Arcadia,OK. They make liners.
gunlaker

Post by gunlaker »

Shiloh sells Crossno liners which will fit your rifle perfectly. They actually work better in a highwall than they do in my Shiloh Sharps rifles as they don't hit the sight base when sliding them in.

I would advise buying a short length of thin wall brass tubing to slip in after the liner is in place. The liner is shorter than the barrel and adding the brass tube at the end helps keep the bore clean. When I shot my C. Sharps 1885 without the brass tube I'd always get a hard ring of fouling at the end of the Crossno liner. I added a couple of pieces of tape to the brass tube to make it a nice fiction fit in the bore.

Chris.
martinibelgian

Post by martinibelgian »

Best solution is to get a dedicated .22 rifle 8) . As a Martini aficionado, pretty easy for me. I do like my BSA 12/15, it will perform quite well out to 200. Most probably further too, but then the sight won't allow it - not enough elevation. Ome day I'll add a serious tang sight to the rifle...
SSShooter

Post by SSShooter »

martinibelgian wrote: Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:39 am Best solution is to get a dedicated .22 rifle 8) . As a Martini aficionado, pretty easy for me. I do like my BSA 12/15, it will perform quite well out to 200. Most probably further too, but then the sight won't allow it - not enough elevation. Ome day I'll add a serious tang sight to the rifle...