Post cataract surgery: irons vs scope

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Michael Johnson

Post cataract surgery: irons vs scope

Post by Michael Johnson »

So , I am a physician (Anesthesiologist) who works at an Ambulatory Surgery Center. We do cataract surgery and lots of other surgery as well. As a 63 year old who likes to shoot who can still manage iron sights I have a question. For those of you who have had this operation, were you able to go back to shooting irons or were you still best suited for shooting with a scope? I have thought about this dilemma as within the next 6 years I will probably need this surgery. There are so many lens options available as well to make this even more complicated. The options are near vision (for reading), far vision (for distance), and multifocal. Thus far friends who have chosen the multi-focal have been disappointed (too many compromises and they see rings especially driving at night). Distance vision for us is of prime importance, but you will need glasses to adjust your sights (near vision). Some guys have their dominant eye set for distance with their non-dominant eye for near vision. Your brain adjusts for all of this so after a month it is all sub-conscious. I would like to hear from folks that have real world experience with this.Thanks! - Mike
charlie young

Re: Post cataract surgery: irons vs scope

Post by charlie young »

I was just visiting with one of my shooting friends this past weekend about this very thing, as I will eventually have to have this done. He had cataract surgery, after we got done with matches last fall. He does have to wear reading glasses. But he won the Senior division last weekend shooting irons, under some not so perfect conditions, he couldn't be happier.
Orville

Post by Orville »