Bullet casting frustration

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

cda4570

Bullet casting frustration

Post by cda4570 »

:?: My last casting session has me stumped. I have a BACO 45 500gn gvt mold and a 535gn Brooksmold.
The BACO mold produced good bullets the first time out of the box. It is my first time with Brooks mold.
My pot is a 20 lb Wage control'd by a PID that I built. The PID and lead thermometre are within -+10 deg.
good bullets were cast 20-1 lead at 750 deg the first time I used it with the Baco mold.
I set up with the same alloy and temp to do another batch using both molds. I pre heated them on a hot plate
with the sme 20-1 alloy. This time, no matter what I do both molds throw bullets that have small voids in the lube rings.
I raised the heat in 5 deg steps to 805 with no change. I tried holding the ladle over the mold longer to make sure it was filling the cavity.
I used one mold to make sure it was hot enough by pouring 12 consecutive bullets. Cleaned both molds with carb cleaner and fine steel wool.
Any ideas? I'm a wits end! :?
SSShooter

Re: Bullet casting frustration

Post by SSShooter »

Could be something in the lead. If you've changed nothing else, will guess you've added lead to the pot, which could be contaminated.
Glenn
bruce m

Post by bruce m »

could pouring technique be an issue?
bruce.
ventum est amicus meus
John Boy

Post by John Boy »

Flux the melt 2X times and see what the drool looks like
Regards
John
Lumpy Grits

Post by Lumpy Grits »

Flush clean the mould with brake cleaner before each casting session.
Gary
"Hav'n you along, is like loose'n two good men"
Clarence

Post by Clarence »

In my experience, the CA brake cleaner doesn't work well. Get the non-CA version. Acetone works well, too.

Clarence
rdnck

Post by rdnck »