1st try with PPB

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

mongo40

1st try with PPB

Post by mongo40 »

Was finally able to get out yesterday and try shooting some PPB out of my Shiloh 45-70 LRE, there were two different Bullets that Matt (bpcr shooter) had sent me to try, one was a DD the other a straight wall, I'm not experienced enough to tell the difference in how they preformed, they both shot good, over a load of 80gr 2F Goex 75gr and 70grs of the same, filled from a long drop tube I made from an old arrow, a .060 card wad on top, the only compression I did was to make sure the card was level so bullet would sit flush on top, both bullets weighted 500gr. and of course they both had slightly different points of impacts. I only shot them from 100yrds at a six inch target, as I wanted to check consistency of the load and bullets, not my shooting ability. I will say the majority all went into the target, had a couple of flyers that were just outside but I'm sure that was me not the load. I first shot three of my greasers just to make sure my zero was good and they were a nice group with the last being dead center in the bullseye, so I know those shoot well and if I ever hunt with this that's probably what I'll use, I then cleaned barrel good and started with the PPBs, I didn't get any in the bullseye but they were all on target, biggest observation for me is I wiped after each shot and the fouling in the barrel was a lot less before I wiped with the PPB than with my greasers and it was easier to run a patch down the barrel. When I look down the barrel after firing a GGB it looks fuzzy down through there, after the PPB it just had a matte appearance and wiping patches went through the barrel a lot easier. I also like the fact that I can get so much powder under the bullet as opposed to my GGBs. I could easily get 81 to 82 grains in there (more if I compressed it) but stuck with 80, then just because I loaded some at 70 a