Compressing Swiss Fg in 45-110

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

opencountry

Compressing Swiss Fg in 45-110

Post by opencountry »

I’ve been using Goex Fg for many years in my 45-110 using pp loads, and have been pretty happy with the results. I’m interested in trying some Swiss Fg in it just to see if I can wring out any better accuracy than I’m getting with Goex Fg.
Goex Fg likes to be compressed a lot, especially in the long powder column of the 45-110.
Can anyone using Swiss Fg in their 45-110 give me a good starting compression to try? I’m shooting pp bullets, and seating them @ 1/8” into the case mouth. I’ve been compressing 111.0 grains of Goex Fg nearly .4”, adding wads, then seating the patched ball.
Looking for some starting data using Swiss Fg.

Robert
Beware of the man that owns one rifle.
MSalyards

Re: Compressing Swiss Fg in 45-110

Post by MSalyards »

PM sent.
bruce m

Post by bruce m »

use a charge that allows the wad to be level with the top of the neck.
then compress it 1/10" and finger seat the bullet.
compare with compress 1/8" as a starting point.
also compare with droptubing up to the wad being 1/10" below the mouth.
above assumes all charges droptubed before compression.
a little compression is safer for the bullet not compressing the powder when you load the rifle.
bruce.
ventum est amicus meus
semtav

Post by semtav »

bruce m wrote: Fri Nov 27, 2020 4:26 pm
Bruce,
I am curious about a couple things when only seating a PP bullet that shallow in the case.
What is the final cartridge like?
I know most put a little tension on the bullet to keep it from falling out , but is it still a little precarious in the case and able to wobble around a little bit?
Do they stay straight or can they tilt in the case a little bit, relying on the bore to to center it?
gunlaker

Post by gunlaker »