Gas Sealing life of 1863

Support for the 1863 shooter. Discussions of powders, loads, bullets, etc.
NMLRA Past Pres.

Gas Sealing life of 1863

Post by NMLRA Past Pres. »

Hello:

My two 1874 Shiloh's are as fine as any rifles I've ever owned. I couldn't be happier with them.

I'd like to get an 1863 for loose powder or paper cartridge use, but am concerned that the design has some serious issues with gas sealing. I've got a lot of BP cartridge and ML experience and don't have trouble keeping guns in perfect shape so if the 1863 will maintain a good gas seal with proper use and care, I'm going for one because the 1863 seems to have the best practical ballistics vs. some of the others that have relatively anemic cartridges that amount to little more than handgun loads in rifles.

Please give me your first-hand experiences and advice about the design and how well and for how long the breech mechanism REALLY provides a decent gas seal.

Thanks,

Kevin Tinny
Pay attention to that soft voice in your head.
Trust a good woman. Her brain IS hardwired differently than a man's.
Most women can smell sin over the telephone; try it sometime. Haha. Love.
snapcap14

gas check plate

Post by snapcap14 »

read thru this fourm under shooting new carbine. my posts and daved lee's post.
also go tto the NSSA board.
there is no wear problem w/ the gas check if you A O-ring modification there are to ways to do it modify the back of the plate the other is to have the seeve puller and have a 2 pcs machines out of stainless one half will be machine w/ a male end to accept an o-ring over it and the breech half will be machind w female end for the male to slip into. I like this method better.
but the gas check method is easyer and a lot cheeper to do and any machinest can do it for you..
If you find daves post i think he posted a picture of the mod.
If not he emailed it to me and If I still have it can fowared it to you.