Opinions on this are welcome

Support for the 1863 shooter. Discussions of powders, loads, bullets, etc.
KL

Opinions on this are welcome

Post by KL »

I am considering acquiring a 63 full length military rifle in 54 caliber with double sets if the company will make such a rifle in a DS version.

I know for certain I do NOT want a carbine and NOT the full military version in 50 caliber. This is not a criticism of either one. Having shot those in the past, I would like to try something else.

Your thoughts and advice would be appreciated.
holdover

Post by holdover »

I have been shooting a shiloh '63 military rifle in 54 cal for over 10 yrs. it is a very accurate rifle and always brings home the medals if I do my part. Mine is a single trigger one and it is adjusted to about 3 pounds. I shoot N-SSA and a set trigger is not allowed. I am sure that you will enjoy a '63 military, and the fit and finish of a Shiloh is unbeatable..

I also have a '63 carbine and enjoy that as well
Free_Stater

Post by Free_Stater »

You could always buy the 63 Sporter, with any options you'd also find in the 1874s.

Personally, I'd opt for the Military Rifle. Like Holdover, I like the single trigger on my Farmingdale MR, and it's got probably the most crisp, clean breaking of any rifle I own. And yes, the Shiloh quality is there in every part.
When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty.
Todd Birch

Opinions

Post by Todd Birch »

Free_Stater

NEVER aks for opinions .... They're like (_*_)s - everybody has one!

I own both a MR and carbine (both Farmingdales) in .50. Matches up with my 50-70 MR. All with single triggers.
I also own a '63 Sporter with 'B' prefix, DSTs in .54 which I would part with in a heart beat for another rifle in .50; percussion or cartridge. There is nothing that a .54 can do that a .50 can't do with less powder and lead.
The chamber of my .50 percussion models hold 60 grs. The chamber on the .54 easily digests 100. Do the math .....