Care and feeding of Shiloh 1863 Carbine

Support for the 1863 shooter. Discussions of powders, loads, bullets, etc.
John Matthews

Care and feeding of Shiloh 1863 Carbine

Post by John Matthews »

Hi there all,

I'm a newbie here. No flaming arrows or buckshot in my general direction till I get my general sense of direction please.

I've got an 1863 Shiloh 54 carbine on order and need some help here. I'll be new to the Sharps. I've had experience with a T/C Renagade 54 and several Colt and Remington 44 and 36 revolvers. I have a couple of questions for now but I'm sure I'll have a lot more when the carbine arrives.

1. I understand the bore measures .532 between the lands and .540 overall. I can't find any .540 bullets or balls out there. I ordered some ring-tail bullets from Dixie before I found out the bore dimensions and these bullets are .544 for the Perdosili Sharps. Buffalo has some 54's but they're .542. Does anyone know where I can find some bullets? I really can't consider casting right now as I'm short on space and don't have the room for it right now.

2. I'd like to use Charlie's Tubes till I can get some practice on rolling my own cartridges. What powder charge is the carbine set up for? I know this depends on the size bullet but there must be some length for use with a mid-weight conical. I've heard 70 to 80 grains mentioned. Someone told me the other day that I can use as much powder as I want in the Sharps. I don't think that's right. I saw mention of the 1.2 inch tube for carbines on the 1863 forum page.

I really want to shoot this gun shortly after it arrives. I just need the right advice and "stuff".

Have a great evening everyone,

John
Free_Stater

Re: Care and feeding of Shiloh 1863 Carbine

Post by Free_Stater »

The .544 ringtails should shoot just fine.