two questions

Support for the 1863 shooter. Discussions of powders, loads, bullets, etc.
wrcook

two questions

Post by wrcook »

I am new to shooting the Sharps percussion. I ahev been shooting blackpowder for over 30 years and have had an original Sharps for years (I never shot it because the bore was too nasty). I now have a repro. My first questionis: Since there is a small chamber in the breech block, how can you have a "slightly compressed" powder charge, does'nt that leave a space? I know the Sharps works and have never heard of a problem from that. Just curious about this.

Second question. I have fired a few of the brass cases in my rifle ( until one stuck in the breech block recess) I was firing a light load and a round ball, my accuracy was great. Has anyone fired round ball and light loads in their Sharps?

Thanks
Bill
Bill Cook
bwbayless

Post by bwbayless »

Bill,

You are correct that there can not be any compression on the powder in the '63. That does not seem to be a detriment or cause a problem. I have fired many rounds through my '63 with out incident.

I have no first hand knowledge about the brass cases or round balls. I have used neither.

Bob
HvyMtl

Two questions:

Post by HvyMtl »

Hi Bill,

You are correct there is no compression in a paper cartridge rifle. You didn't mention which brand rifle you have, some of them vary a little in design. Most of us use conical bullets but I would be interested in knowing how good your accuracy was with round ball bullets ? I have those brass cartridges but they don't fit the Shiloh or the Ped. so I have never tried them.

What part of Maine are you from ? I just got back from a friends new place in Peru, its a beautifull place. First time back in Maine since 1977.

Ken
wrcook

Post by wrcook »

Thanks for the info.