Info on old Sharps Rifle?

Support for the 1863 shooter. Discussions of powders, loads, bullets, etc.
MooseGundr

Info on old Sharps Rifle?

Post by MooseGundr »

Hello there, This is my first time on, this seemed like a good enough place to start my researching, I have little to no knowledge about rifles, my father passed away a few years ago leaving me a collection of 8 guns spanning the years. Well now I have time to sit down and start researching them. None of the guns are in amazing condition,

What I'm looking at has stamped on it "Sharps Rifle Company Patent April 6, 1869. On the barrel Calibre 44" 158*** is the number stamped on the topside of the rifle.
Any information would help, I don't have any information yet. Thanks for the help.

Here are some pictures i've taken of the gun:

Retired Bucktail

Post by Retired Bucktail »

According to Winston O. Smith's The Sharps Rifle, the patent date of 4-6-69 refers to patent #88645 received by Richard S. Lawrence at Hartford.

The description reads: "Applies to metallic cartridge firearm".

Your rifle appears to be a M1874. I can't see enough of the barrel to give more details, but it appears that the rear sight is missing.
singleshotman

Re:1874 Sharps

Post by singleshotman »