Value of compressing

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

pt2317

Value of compressing

Post by pt2317 »

I have been loaring BP for about 9 months and tried just about everthing that Matthews, Venturino, Garbe and Wolf have printed. Hundreds of rounds! Results have all been poor- 2 to 3 inch groups at 50 yards. My biggest confusion is with compression. If I load 68g in my 45-70 using pouring from the graduated measureing tool or use a 24" drop tube the powder is at 2 different levels in the case. I must still compress to .670 depth inside the case to accommadate the Postell bullet. The Mechanical compression is different but the ultimat results are the same. What am I missing in this whole compression thing.Oh by the way. Found if I did not roll crimp OR taper crimp my groups came down to less than 3/4 inch. Now why would that be?
MikeT

Post by MikeT »

pt2317,
I have a question regarding your "compression" number. Is .670 the final depth of the over powder wad? If so, what is the depth of the wad after just "drop tubing" the powder? If you measure the depth before compressing the powder and subtract that dimension from the .670, that is the compression that is added and the actual number that most people are referring to when they talk about thier particular load and compression. If you are actually compressing the powder .670: back off to about .300 to .400.
Keep on hav'n fun!
MikeT
P.S. don't worry about why something didn't help the group size. Just remember to use what works in your rifle.
pt2317

compression

Post by pt2317 »

Thank yopu for your responce: I ran a test to determine the depth from the lip of the case to the powder for 24" drop tubes or for pouring from the measuring tube through a funnel directly into the case. Results:
Wt, gr by vol 24"Tube Direct pour
50 .720" .635
60 .550 .405
70 .315 .095