50-70 and Barrel Length

Ask Shiloh questions about your Shiloh Sharps Rifle.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Hunter

50-70 and Barrel Length

Post by Hunter »

Kirk, or someone else with a clue. I'm fixing to throw the dice again. Want as short a bbl. 50-70 as will effeciently burn the powder (the real stuff). Looking at a round bbl Hartfort with a 26 incher. Will 26 inchs do the job?? Hunter
Say no to BO.
Kirk

Post by Kirk »

Good morning, A 26" will work fine, you can even go down to the 22". My 110 is 26" and does the job good. Thanks Kirk
Ken Hartlein

Post by Ken Hartlein »

Kirk, I'm thinking about ordering a 50-70 in your new carbine, does the accuracy suffer any from the 22" barrel verses like a 26"?? Thanks, and thanks again for the georgeous wood on my #1, it's a real beauty.
Shiloh Rules!!
Republic of Texas Shiloh Hunter
shooter 37

Post by shooter 37 »

I have been shooting a Shiloh 50/70 Military Carbine for about 6 months.
Probably the MOST accurate short barrel smoker around.
It shoots almost anything I load (450, 515, 545 gr. bullets) and using the factory sights I can hold 9 ring at 100 yds. At fifty yards it will cut center on a pistol target.
Put a marbles style tang sight on and can use the carbine well out to 200 yds.

I also shoot a Lone Star roller 50/70 with a 30 in. bbl. The roller doesn't buck as much as the carbine but it is more accurate.

The shorter barrel doesn't seem to foul as badly as the roller, but you see a lot more fire out the front end. Either way the 50/70 is pure fun to shoot.

Good Luck
THE ONLY INTERESTING RIFLES ARE ACCURATE ONES
Ken Hartlein

Post by Ken Hartlein »

Shooter 37, I think I understood your post correct, the roller doesn't have as much recoil and it is more accurate?? I guess if that's true it would be because of the short barrel?? Is that what you were saying? Thanks, I'm considering the 22 or 24 or 26 inch barrel (if they make it in those other lengths) so I'm real interested in your opinions.
Shiloh Rules!!