Sharps Accuracy

Ask Shiloh questions about your Shiloh Sharps Rifle.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Iron Horse

Sharps Accuracy

Post by Iron Horse »

I need some of this forum’s wisdom. I have a Sharp’s #1 NRA ready for BPRC competion. It is a 40-65 with 1-16 twist. 30” half round barrel with the sights Shiloh suggested. I have shot Bench Rest competition for many years so I understand shooting techniques and trajectory. About 3 years ago I started shooting Cowboy Action shooting and got to shoot a Sharps. WOOOOOOOOOW. What a blast. So now I’m hooked and want to shot in Sharps competition. I know this is some what of a hypothetical question but here goes. What kind of accuracy can I expect out of this rifle say at 200 yards from a Bench Rest type rest..just for testing purposes. That’s to say if I have the right bullet and loads and I do my part. I am just trying to establish a base here so when I start working up loads I will know where I stand as there is no one in my area to compare my rifle to. Is there a way to pick a bullet for this gun? Does the Greenhill formula work on BP cartridge guns? Thanks for any input.

Iron Horse

Larry Gilley
[color=blue][/color][color=blue][/color]
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
It's about learning to dance in the rain.
Jim Watson

Post by Jim Watson »

I am new at this, too, but I will say 1.5 MOA.
You will read about a lot of MOA guns, but Pedersoli gives out plaques for CONSISTENTLY shooting MOA with any brand of rifle and they haven't passed out many.
I don't have a .40 but somebody will come along with a bullet recommendation. Probably something in the 420 grain range.
Iron Horse

Sharps Accuracy

Post by Iron Horse »

Thanks Jim,