Which Way Should I Go?

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Dan

Which Way Should I Go?

Post by Dan »

Help me out gang. You've given advice to others and helped them spend their money. Now, it is my turn! I need some general guidance. I've got the pesos for a down payment on my next Shiloh and need some advice before I make the final plunge.

I currently own a Shiloh #3 in 45-70. I've been shooting it for just over two years and now have the itch to try a different caliber. I'm sorta a traditionalist by nature so I want to stick to the cartridges and rifles configured for the buffalo period and could have worked on the big hunt. Therefore, I'm strongly leaning toward a 50-90 with the 50-70 as a strong possibility. Also another choice is the .45 2 7/8th as it seems attractive as well. I have no interest in a 45-90 as it is too close to what I currently have and the 45-100 wasn't originally intended as a hunting cartridge. So that leaves me with the .45 2 7/8s as my only other choice other than the 50s.

I realize there is some economy of scale by sticking with the .45 . . .same bullets etc. Frankly that is not an issue for me. I have no problem ordering new dies, getting different bullets, wads, etc.

Now here is what I do and am planning on doing with this new beast . . .

I typically shoot the 45-70 rifle for just the "fun of it" and at long range gong shoots up to 1000 yards. I have no interest or intentions of ever going the competition route. I realize I should never say "never" but I'm very committed on this "never!" Also I want a rifle that has some "WOW" factor from the ignorant who roam the firearms community and have never seen or heard of these cartridges. I really like shooting beside them and giving them a run for their money with their hi-powered rifles, optics and other gadgets.