Rechamber 45-120 down to 45-110 ?

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Bentsight

Rechamber 45-120 down to 45-110 ?

Post by Bentsight »

First, thanks to all for the great info that you have shared on this site!
I'm new to BPCR and made the same mistake that Harlan witnessed at Cabela's- I purchased a 45-120 with the 34" barrel without much research. It didn't take too long to realize that I needed a different rifle so the purchase of a 45-70 and a 40-65 weren't far behind. I don't feel that I'm too recoil sensitive yet, so would I gain enough accuracy and consistency by having this gun rechambered to a shorter case or just try to trade the thing in on something else? I plan to try some long range matches and use the rifle for some hunting as well.
Mike
Always tell the truth...That way you never have to remember what you said
wolfie

Post by wolfie »

if i rember clive(the brit)who roams around on these sites uses the 45/120 with success,mabey he will chime in.i my self would just work with it,get some 1f powder some 535 or bigger bullets and get to work :wink:
B.J. Spalding
"I came I saw and I forgot why I am here."
SHILOH#1
MRich

Post by MRich »

Bentsight:

Why not shoot the 45-120, just load it with 108 grains of FFg and use veg. fiber wads to fill the space...........

MRich
rdnck

45-120

Post by rdnck »

Bentsight--My 2 cents, FWIW. You need to either learn to load and shoot the rifle as is, or sell or trade it off. Here's why.