too much in 40-82?

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Joe Burr

too much in 40-82?

Post by Joe Burr »

I am loading 40-82 rounds formed from Rem. 45-70 cases. I am using a drop tube of 24", and compressing the load along with a card wad and grease cookie. The bullet is seated with all lube grooves covered. I weighed the charge at 70 grs of 2f Goex. I'm still fairly new to BPCR loading, does that sound like too much powder for the 40-82?
MikeT

Post by MikeT »

Joe,
Why the grease cookie? Are there no grease grooves on the bullet? The depth of the bullet seating inside the case is also good to know if you are looking for suggested powder weights. How much compression are you using now with the 70 grains of 2Fg Goex? Is your brass the streched 45-70 brass from Buffalo Arms? More information is better.
Keep on hav'n fun!
PS: to answer your question, no, 70 grains is not too much 2Fg Goex [I use that in my 40-65]. I doubt that with a grease cookie plus your bullet, you can get enough powder in the case. Just a guess. :roll:
Joe Burr

Post by Joe Burr »