Bullet sizing?

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Monty

Bullet sizing?

Post by Monty »

Hi,
I’m new to this so I have a dumb question. Can an under sized bullet, say .456 be sized up to .458 in a Lyman 450 bullet sizer?
Thanks,
Monty
John from Bend, Oregon
wolfie

Post by wolfie »

simple anser no,you would have to plug up the bullet path and and squish the bullet real good.
i would just melt them down and recast in the right size mould. 8)
B.J. Spalding
"I came I saw and I forgot why I am here."
SHILOH#1
Ken Hartlein

Post by Ken Hartlein »

Monte, the only dumb question is the one you don't ask. You should see some of the questions I asked when I started BPCRS. :roll: Wolfie is right on as usual.
Shiloh Rules!!
Republic of Texas Shiloh Hunter
8iowa

Post by 8iowa »

Monty: No such thing as a dumb question.

If you use a .456 die in your lubra-sizer, the bullets should come out perfectly lubed and sized. In shooting them however, they might not orbitrate in the bore, which could cause barrel leading. Using softer lead would be helpful.

Using a .458 sizing die would probably result in a gooey mess in your sizer.

In order to load a .456 bullet you might have to invest in a new smaller diameter neck expander die. The bullet might be too loose in the case if you use the standard expander.
NRA LIfe Member
NAHC Life Member
"Heaven is North of the bridge"
wolfie

Post by wolfie »

careful ken you mite swell my head telling me i am right :lol:
but could you call my wife and tell her :P
B.J. Spalding
"I came I saw and I forgot why I am here."
SHILOH#1
Monty

Post by Monty »

I guess I need a new mould; does Steve Brooks have a web sight?
Should I go with a Paul Jones or Steve Brooks mould?
I need a good hunting bullet for my 45-110. Something in the 400 to 500 grain range.
Thanks for the info so far!
Monty
John from Bend, Oregon
Ken Hartlein

Post by Ken Hartlein »