Intro BIO/ THANKS Shiloh.../Question

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

captpetryusn

Intro BIO/ THANKS Shiloh.../Question

Post by captpetryusn »

Greetings to all! I am pleased to join this forum...My nickname is Pete, was a U.S.N. Submariner for 36 years, of which I spent 8 years on carriers, 21 years on submarines (Nuclear Fast Attacks) and Submarine Tenders, and 7 years of shore duty, including schooling. I promoted E-1 thru E-9 (MMCM) and
0-1 thru 0-6 and retired as a Navy Captain. (36yrs.). Had 2 Commands. I started shooting (we don't do much of that on the subs except firing torpedoes) in 2015. I started reloading at the same time. SASS interested me, did that for a couple of years, but hated the downtime between stages. Shooting for 180- 200 seconds in a 5 hour period of time was tough for me. Loved the camaraderie ! AKA Colonel John Henri (J. Wayne in the Undefeated) Love the 1800's rifles and single actions. Marlins, Pedersoli, Ruger, S&W, winchesters, etc. 2 years and 2 months ago I became interested in Long Range shooting and the Quigley...who wouldn't? ordered my Shiloh Long Range Express in May 2020. I received the rifle last Thursday. It has been to the range 3 times since then. With 1 bullseye at 100yds with semi buckhorn rear and globe front sight (smokeless for now...... ) had to file the aperture to do that. The rifle is gorgeous! I want to especially thank the Shiloh craftsman/woman who produced this functioning work of art. My heart goes out to Anna/Onna ??? for being so patient as I called relentlessly about the birth of my rifle! I am thrilled. So I am a newbie, or what we call a SEAPUP when it comes to this sport. I looked in the massive forum trying to see if I could spot an answer to my very basic question...which is...