Loading a 40-85 Ballard

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

AK Ballard 40-90

Loading a 40-85 Ballard

Post by AK Ballard 40-90 »

Good evening, new to this group. I have acquired a 40-85 Ballard No.5 Pacific. It was an original chambered in 40-63. I had it completely worked over by the folks at Wyoming Armory. They relined the barrel and rechambered the rifle to 40-85. I have acquired .408" Diameter 370 Grain Lubed Hand Cast Lead Bullets, 40-85 Ballard (AKA 40-90 Ballard) Reformed* Reloadable Brass Cases (all from Buffalo Arms Company), Primers, dies, and 1.5-F Swiss Caviar Ball Black Powder.
I believe I measured my COLA at 3.65". Without a drop tube and expanded case I can fit 87 grains of the 1.5 Swiss. I have .060" Vegetable Fiber Wads.
I am completely new to reloading black powder cartridges so I have these questions.
1. I have seen some recommendation of placing a thin wad over the primer. Is that necessary?
2. With the bullet I have, I would have to seat it to a depth of .485" to achieve the COLA I have measured. How does that relate to the overall compression of the powder? Should I set my initial powder load (say to 84-85 grains) so that my overall compression would be less. How much should I compress the load before seating the bullet?
3. With the powder I have do I need to use a drop tube?

Appreciate your advice. Thank you in advance.
desert deuce

Re: Loading a 40-85 Ballard

Post by desert deuce »

A good start would be listing where you live as there may be someone close by that can get you on the right track and shoot with you.
Suspecting you will eventually discover that you have a tiger by the tail (the first time you pull the trigger) that is not exactly a plinking cartridge.
Need to know what you intend to do with the rifle? Silhouette, target, gongs, big game, tin cans, buttercups in the spring, etc ?