First Rifle..45/70 or 40/90?

Share your tales (tall or otherwise) of hunting adventures.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

wwben47

First Rifle..45/70 or 40/90?

Post by wwben47 »

Hi Folks..A newbie here. After a wait of MANY years, I am ready to order my Shiloh. While common sense tells me the 45/70 is all I need, I must admit the coolness factor of the 40/90 SS really has my attention. Taos is the only person I have seen on here who actually HAS a 40/90 so I would really appreciate his thoughts. My two main concerns are recoil..(I broke my neck in 98)..and difficulty of reloading the 90 with BP. To see a thousand yards here in West Virginia, you would have to be in an airplane..so this rifle will be mainly used for deer, bear, and 300 yard targets...ANY suggestions or comments would be greatly appreciated.
Shoot it?..I caint even see it!
abenson

Post by abenson »

wwben,

Welcome aboard.

I'm not an experienced hand at this stuff, in fact I just placed my order this month and so am hoping to have my rifle this time next year. In other words I'm a total noob but...

I went through the same decision you're trying to make now, namely what caliber. I wanted a .45-110 or .50-90 because of the "coolness factor", but in the end when I called I ordered a .45-70. I asked alot of questions here and got plenty of answers, plus I surfed through all the old posts that had anything to do with caliber selection. Overwhelmingly, folks who know recommend the .45-70 for your first Sharps and the overwhelming reason seems to be the relative ease of loading for it.

I'm fairly new to reloading in general and reloading BP has sort of an aura of alchemy or black magic around it. I know that mostly it's just experimentation and finding a recipe the gun likes, but still...I figure if I never get the hang of it, at least I can shoot smokeless.

The .45-70 is of course more than adequate for the uses you plan to put it to.
A gun in the hand beats a cop on the phone.