Load development

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

semtav

Load development

Post by semtav »

For years, when I started a load development, I always started with the same primer. BR-2.
After I worked up a load that shot well with that primer, I would test other primers against it.
Invariably, the results were almost always the same.
The Fed 210's were close, once in a while a pistol primers was as good, maybe even better, but the Remington and Winchester primers were horrible. To the point I had no use for either primer and would never use one in a rifle. I even tried the white box Winchester primers that Kenny liked to no avail.
It wasn't until I was talking to MikeH tonight about load development on the cheap, that some things started to click. I haven't been starting with the same primer yet regardless of which one I start with I made a real good load using it. The Browning 45-110 that I've been shooting for the last 3 years, I started out with the Fed 210's and they are shooting great. With the Wesson 45-100, I started out with the BR-2's and it is shooting great. But because I got a whole bunch of 40-82 brass already primed with Winchester primers, when I got the Borchardt, I just decided to use them up. It shoots great with them. The primer I thought was junk!!

That got me to thinking, are we actually developing a load to match a primer when most of us think we trying to get a primer to match a load?
gunlaker

Re: Load development

Post by gunlaker »

In a couple of rifles with Dan Theodore's paper patch chambers I've almost always had the best results with Winchester Large Rifle. I am testing a new lot of Swiss 1.5 with BR2's this time and it's looking good. BR2's or Fed LR/LP match primers are what I usually use in most of my rifles though.