45 2.1 fired brass question

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Bluedog

45 2.1 fired brass question

Post by Bluedog »

Hello,

First time putting anything on the forum
Shooting today 74 LRE Shiloh 45 2.1
Fireformed starline brass, dual diameter paper patch Steve Brooks mould, BACO bore wipers between shots ( followed by a dry patch)
3 rounds out of 35 did this today (if the picture goes through)
Shot around 100 rounds of the same yesterday and no issues
Today we had some rain but we were shooting from under roof

I have learned a lot from you generous folks and am sincerely grateful for your willingness to help
I am new to black powder cartridge, took possession of first Shiloh in January of this year, and have 2 more scheduled to be completed April of 2024…… I am indeed hooked.

Jason Taffera
Northeast Pennsylvania
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kenny Wasserburger

Re: 45 2.1 fired brass question

Post by Kenny Wasserburger »

Wet chamber.

Chamber swab or a second dry patch is necessary.

Kenny W
We'll raise up our Glasses against Evil Forces, Singing, Whiskey for my men, Beer for my horses.

Wyoming Territory Sharps Shooter
Gamerancher

Post by Gamerancher »

The felts on bore wipers just need to be damp, not dripping wet.
Check you brass length also. My .40-70SS will do that if I don't keep an eye on the case lengths.
Out in western NSW where it don't rain much.
Australia
Bluedog

Post by Bluedog »

Thank you Kenny and Gamerancher!

Very much appreciated

Jason Taffera
Aviator

Post by Aviator »

Well, that case is a good specimen for an accurate measurement of chamber length!

Depending on temperature and humidity, I generally like my BACO felts well saturated, but not dripping. Just damp is sometimes not enough for me. And, I often follow with a slightly damp patch.