The Black Magic of Lead Casting

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

ccongos@me.com

The Black Magic of Lead Casting

Post by ccongos@me.com »

All,

I have received the bulk of my casting supplies from Midway. When the temps here in Texas dip below 1000 degrees, I'll start thinking about putting things together in the garage. In the mean time, I'm collecting the remainder of the things needed.

And right now, I'm in research mode. And I'm starting to think that coming up with a proper lead concoction is "black magic"! I was hoping to melt the pure lead I received and be off to the range, boy was I wrong!

I've been reloading black and white powder for a couple decades now. Never messed with casting, but here I am. The reason is that I can't find 500 gr BPCR projectiles out on the interwebs, and certainly not for a fair price! So, I'll be casting.

My question is going to sound naïve, but here goes. What do I throw in the pot to make a generally accepted BPCR bullet for my Shiloh 1874? I eventually want to compete, but that's a long way off yet.
-Chad
Luke

Re: The Black Magic of Lead Casting

Post by Luke »

Go to an accepted supplier (Rotometals, Buffalo Arms, Walters). And order the desired alloy.
Limber Up!
Luke

Post by Luke »

Lots of folks start with 20-1, 16-1 also popular. Search the forum for lots of info. I'd try both of the above, let the rifle tell you which it likes better, then refine from that base.
Limber Up!
Luke

Post by Luke »

Do you have a Mold. A Saeco 645 is an excellent starting point. Avoid Lyman IMHO. ACCURATE molds are also a great entry into custom molds.
Limber Up!
Dan O

Post by Dan O »

Check Buffalo Arms website for molds. Jim makes a great Mold. They normally show their unavailable, but he makes upon receiving an order and then gets them out in a short time. The standard 535 grain Creedmoor is a good bullet to start with and 20-1 works good for it.

Good Luck,
Dan
Aviator