Trimming 50-70 brass

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

Cotton Eye Joe

Trimming 50-70 brass

Post by Cotton Eye Joe »

Hey everyone,

I'm thinking someone's invented this wheel before, so here's my question. Can anybody tell me how they trim their 50-70 brass? I've reloaded 50-70 for a few years, but only as a plinker. No huge effort into making my ammo super premium and uniform. Yesterday I decided to try a little harder, and I quickly discovered my RCBS Trim Pro 2 won't fit the 50-70 brass.

I'm not looking to get an associates degree as a machinist, I'm not the guy who has a lathe or a CNC in my garage. Just hoping someone's used a different brand of trimmer that works with a 50-70 case. My understanding is that you don't have to trim 50-70 often, but I want to be able to.

Thanks if you've read this far!
-Joe
Tucson, AZ
letfly

Re: Trimming 50-70 brass

Post by letfly »

Old School, Forester classic. Maybe slow but fits a lot of different cases.
Jeff Michel

Post by Jeff Michel »

I use a Lyman
J.B.

Post by J.B. »

I've had the Lyman "universal" and suspect the RCBS may well be the same.. ie. " Up to 45/70" .. In fact my Lyman Universal wouldnt hold 45/70 so clearly 50/70 wasnt going to work. They may well have changed now but I am another vote for the Forster Classic. I've been using a Forster case trimmer since the early 80's and couldnt fault it. Its really not that much slower than the others and I believe there may even be a cordless adaptor made for them now. The Classic has a larger diameter cutter shaft and will likely come with the collet you need. Pilots may be extra ? Money well spent imho.
J.B.
"an experimental weapon..with experimental ammunition ? ...Lets experiment "
George Babits

Post by George Babits »

I use an RCBS file trim die. Hard to beat. Fortunately I got mine before they put the price through the ceiling.

George
bobw

Post by bobw »