Lee handpress or Lyman 310

Talk with other Shiloh Sharps shooters.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

gunrunner

Lee handpress or Lyman 310

Post by gunrunner »

Hello ALL

Newbie here , i just slid over to the dark side of shooting and would like to start reloading some of the 45LC and 45-70 ammo. i have loaded some semi auto handgun ammo in the past so i am somewhat familar with the basics. i am leaning toward the LEE for cost and compatiblity with my other press but if i just load these 2 calibers with the hand press its not really a big problem. what other tools do i need for these larger Rifle rounds. i have seen some mention the hand auto primer verses just the handtool also do i need the decapper and deprimmer or will the handpress do it all. what is all this stuff about resize lube.

:D
Ray Newman

Post by Ray Newman »

When you say ” i just slid over to the dark side of shooting “, I interpret your remark to mean Black Powder as opposed to White/Nitro powder (AKA Smokeless) & lead plain based bullets as opposed to full metal patched (AKA jacketed )?

If so, you need to log onto the below link for an on-line BPCR reloading primer:

http://www.ssbpcrc.co.uk/Resources/Intr ... oading.pdf

This summer there was a poster named James M who was asking similar neophyte questions. I would advise you to do a search for his posts & read the responses.

I once had 2 Lee hand presses that I utilized while shooting & reloading one case @ the range. I mounted them side-by-side on a board. One press compressed the wad & powder charge & the other seated the bullet. When seating the bullet, I turned the case approximately three times & ea. time I partially seated the bullet because there was some run out & looseness in the ram. This was about 10-12 years ago, & maybe Lee has improved this press.