casting vs. swaging

Discussions of powders, bullets and loading information.

Moderators: Kirk, Lucinda

wwben47

casting vs. swaging

Post by wwben47 »

Since I am new to BPCR I am going to have to buy some new equipment regardless which method I choose. I wondered if I could get some opinions as to why casting seems far and away more popular than swaging. The idea of avoiding molten metal definitely appeals to me. Any opinions would be appreciated.
Shoot it?..I caint even see it!
Brent

Post by Brent »

wwben47 -
Sooner or later, you will end up casting if only to deal with the waste lead that you will generate by swaging. Also, you really cannot swage grease groove bullets effectively with home style equipment. Nor can you easily mess with bullet alloy.

That said, I have two swaging presses, one from each of the Corbin brothers, and I much prefer paper patched bullets to grease grooves.

Oh yeah, swaging is both more expensive, and for my money, slower.

Brent
Ken Hartlein

Post by Ken Hartlein »

If you do get into casting, let me be the first to tell you about the Waage melting pot. A lot of us on this forum have found it to be the best we've used. To get one you'll have to call the company, they don't have them listed on their web (at least they didn't when I looked). Go to www.waage.com and get their number and tell them you want the k4757 pot. Shipping and all comes to around $130 and it is the best I've ever had, I've had RCBS and Lee before. After that about all you need is a good thermometer, a ladle (RCBS or Lyman), a good mold and some alloy and you're in business. Oh, and some ingot molds and heavy leather gloves and all the other little things that I've forgotten about. :lol:
Shiloh Rules!!
Republic of Texas Shiloh Hunter
wwben47

Post by wwben47 »

Brent and Ken,